>> Short Bio

Associate Professor, Computer Science Department, IT University of Copenhagen.
Associate Professor (part-time), School of Computer Science, Reykjavik University.
Research interests: Multimedia analytics; Multimedia retrieval; Query processing performance; Novel architectures.

Björn Þór Jónsson completed his Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the University of Maryland, College Park, in 1999. After working in industry for 18 months, he joined the recently founded Reykjavík University, Iceland in fall 2000, where he was instrumental in the development of the School of Computer Science to its current international academic strength, and served as Dean from January 2010 to January 2014. Björn spent the 2015-2016 school year on a sabbatical at the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands. And in January 2017, Björn joined the IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark, where he holds the position of Associate Pofessor.

Currently, Björn is working within the broad field of Multimedia Analytics, applying Multi-dimensional Analysis concepts and techniques to multimedia. Over the last decade, Björn's research has focused primarily on the performance of very large scale content based multimedia retrieval. This research has led to the traditional international publications and graduate degrees, but also to two patent applications and a start-up company, Videntifier Technologies. Björn has also studied the performance and tuning of relational database systems, particularly for novel hardware architectures. This work resulted in the development of the uFLIP benchmark for flash devices, which received the best paper award at CIDR 2009.

Björn has served on the program committees on some of the major database and multimedia conferences in the world. He has organised special sessions at the MMM 2018-2020 on Multimedia Analytics: Perspectives, Techniques and Applications. He recently served as General Chair for the MMM 2017 conference, held at Reykjavik University in January 2017, and will serve as general chair for CBMI 2019, ACM ICMR 2020, and SISAP 2020, as well as Reproducibility Chair for ACM Multimedia 2019 and 2020.