Visit Reykjavik ICALP 2008
35th International Colloquium on
Automata, Languages and Programming

July 6 - 13, 2008
Reykjavik - Iceland


GÖDEL Prize (Thursday)

The 2008 Gödel Prize for outstanding journal articles in the area of theoretical computer science, co-sponsored by EATCS and ACM SIGACT, will be awarded at the meeting. The winner of the 2008 Gödel Prize is the paper Smoothed analysis of algorithms: Why the simplex algorithm usually takes polynomial time by Daniel A. Spielman and Shang-Hua Teng, Journal of the ACM (JACM), 51(3), May 2004, 385-463. The results in the paper were first presented at the Annual ACM Symposium on the Theory of Computing (STOC 01), 2001, pp. 296-305.

EATCS Award (Thursday)

The EATCS Award is awarded in recognition of a distinguished career in theoretical computer science. The recipient of the 2008 EATCS Award is Leslie G. Valiant (Harvard, USA).

You can read the motivation for the award prepared by the committee (consisting of Catuscia Palamidessi, David Peleg as chair, and Emo Welzl) of the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science in charge of evaluating the nominations to the 2008 EATCS Award.

Master Class on Mathematical Puzzles by Peter Winkler (Tuesday)
EATCS General Assembly (Tuesday)

During the EATCS General Assembly, the ICALP'08 Best Paper Awards will be publicly awarded.