SWAT 2016

15th Scandinavian Symposium and Workshops on Algorithm Theory
June 22-24, 2016, Reykjavik, Iceland

Call for Papers

The symposium, which alternates with the Algorithms and Data Structures Symposium (WADS), is a forum for researchers in the area of design and analysis of algorithms and data structures. We invite submissions of papers presenting original research on algorithms and data structures. Though we welcome experiments, the theoretical results in the articles will be the main measure for evaluating their merits. Algorithmic approaches of interest include, but are not limited to: approximation algorithms, parametrized algorithms, distributed algorithms, parallel algorithms, external-memory algorithms, data structures, exponential time algorithms, online algorithms, randomized algorithms, streaming algorithms, sub-linear algorithms. The algorithmic problems considered may be motivated by applications, e.g. in optimization, geometry and topology, graph analysis, bioinformatics, visualization, string processing, information retrieval, machine learning, algorithmic game theory, or mechanism design.

Contributors must submit their papers using the Easychair system Submissions should be in LIPIcs format (without font size, margin, or line spacing changes), and not exceed 12 pages including front page and references. See www.dagstuhl.de/publikationen/lipics/anleitung-fuer-autoren for instructions. Additionally, if full details of proofs do not fit into the page limit, a clearly marked appendix containing the remaining details must be included; this appendix will not be regarded as part of the submission and will be considered only at the discretion of the program committee. Submissions deviating substantially from this format risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Papers submitted for review should represent original, previously unpublished work. At the time the paper is submitted to the symposium, and for the entire review period, the paper (or essentially the same paper) must not be under review by any other conference with published proceedings or by a scientific journal. However, we encourage authors to make a preprint of their paper available at a public repository such as arXiv. At least one author of every accepted paper is expected to register and present the paper at the symposium. Symposium proceedings will be published in the “Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics” (LIPIcs) series. A prize will be awarded to the author(s) of the best student-authored paper. A paper is eligible if all of its authors are full-time students at the time of submission. This must be indicated in the submission process.

Past Meetings

SWAT alternates with WADS and has been held biannually since 1988.

  1. SWAT 1988: Halmstad, Sweden
  2. SWAT 1990: Bergen, Norway
  3. SWAT 1992: Helsinki, Finland
  4. SWAT 1994: Aarhus, Denmark
  5. SWAT 1996: Reykjavík, Iceland
  6. SWAT 1998: Stockholm, Sweden
  7. SWAT 2000: Bergen, Norway
  8. SWAT 2002: Turku, Finland
  9. SWAT 2004: Humlebæk, Denmark
  10. SWAT 2006: Riga, Latvia
  11. SWAT 2008: Gothenburg, Sweden
  12. SWAT 2010: Bergen, Norway
  13. SWAT 2012: Helsinki, Finland
  14. SWAT 2014: Copenhagen, Denmark
  15. SWAT 2016: Reykjavík, Iceland

Important Dates

  • Paper submission deadline: February 14, 2016
  • Notification of acceptance: Early April, 2016
  • Symposium: June 22-24, 2016

Keynote Speakers

Christos Papadimitriou, University of California at Berkeley

Julia Chuzhoy, Toyota Technical Institute, Chicago

Dániel Marx, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest


Program Committee

  • Christian Sohler, Technische Universität Dortmund
  • Christian Wulff-Nilsen, University of Copenhagen
  • Dimitris Fotakis, National Technical University of Athens
  • Djamal Belazzougui, CERIST
  • Ely Porat, Bar-Ilan University
  • Fabio Vandin, University of Padova
  • Faith Ellen, University of Toronto
  • Francois Le Gall, University of Tokyo
  • Gerhard Woeginger, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Gonzalo Navarro, University of Chile
  • Kasper Green Larsen, Aarhus University
  • Marek Karpinski, University of Bonn
  • Marina Papatriantafilou, Chalmers University of Technology and Göteborg University
  • Nodari Sitchinava, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Ola Svensson, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Petteri Kaski, Aalto University
  • Pinar Heggernes, University of Bergen
  • Rasmus Pagh (chair), IT University of Copenhagen
  • Rob van Stee, University of Leicester
  • Seth Pettie, University of Michigan
  • Stefan Langerman, Université libre de Bruxelles
  • Suresh Venkatasubramanian, University of Utah
  • Therese Biedl, University of Waterloo

Organizing Committee

  • Magnús M. Halldórsson, Reykjavík University (chair)
  • Christian Konrad, Reykjavík University
  • Páll Melsted, University of Iceland
  • Tigran Tonoyan, Reykjavík University

Steering Committee

  • Lars Arge, Aarhus University
  • Magnús M. Halldórsson, Reykjavík University
  • Andrzej Lingas, Lund University
  • Jan Arne Telle, University of Bergen
  • Esko Ukkonen, University of Helsinki


Questions to the local organizers? Please contact swat16 at ru.is.